

DRAFT Electromaterials Symposium Program 'Cinema', Ground Floor, Kambri Precinct Cultural Centre Building 153, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Wednesday 5th – Friday 7th February 2020

Day 1: Wednesday 5 th February 2020			
	Session 1 - Chair: Dr Mark Howard		
9:00am	Registrations Open – Lobby, Kambri Precinct Cultural Centre, Building 153, ANU		
10:00am	Professor Michelle Coote, Australian National University: Welcome Remarks		
10:05am	Professor Gordon Wallace, ACES Director: Opening Remarks		
10:20am	Professor Jadranka Travas-Sejdic, University of Auckland, New Zealand Self-healing and Stretchable Polymer Electronics		
11:00am	Professor Richard Kaner, University of California, Los Angeles, USA Graphene for Energy Storage		
11:40am	Morning Tea		
	Session 2 - Chair: Dr Hao Zhou		
12:10pm	Associate Professor Zongyou Yin, Australian National University Nanomaterials for Energy Conversion: Reactivity and Stability		
12:30pm	Professor Bong-Sup Shim, Inha University, South Korea Title TBC		
12:50pm	Professor Mark Cook, University of Melbourne Developing an Inplantable Epilepsy Device		
1:10pm	Lunch		
	Session 3 - Chair: Dr Vipul Gupta		
2:20pm	Professor Antonio Tricoli, Australian National University Scalable Structuring of Efficient Earth-Abundant Electrocatalysts for Water Splitting and CO ₂ Reduction		
2:40pm	Associate Professor Ekaterina Pas, Monash University Towards All-Organic Radical Batteries		
3:00pm	Associate Professor Ajay Pandey, Queensland University of Technology Smart Robotic Skin and Large Area Tactile Sensing Using Elastomers and Advanced Organic Optoelectronic Diodes		
3:20pm	Professor Jenny Pringle, Deakin University: 2020 Research Training Events		
3:25pm	Professor Simon Moulton, Swinburne University: Poster Burster Session		
4:10pm	Afternoon Tea		



Session 4 - Chair: Professor Susan Dodds		
4:30pm	Ethics Panel Session #1 – 3D Printed Medical Devices: Regulatory & Legal Challenges in Clinical Practice Chair: Susan Dodds Guest Panellists: • Associate Professor Jane Nielsen, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania • Professor Dianne Nicol, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania • Professor Cameron Stewart, Faculty of Law, University of Sydney • Ms Jenny Kaldor, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania	
5:30pm	Posters After Five: ACES Canapé Reception – Lobby, Kambri Precinct Cultural Centre	
8:00pm	Day 1 Finish	





Day 2: Thursday 6 th February 2020		
Session 5 - Chair: Dr Alexandr Simonov		
9:00am	Professor Justin Gooding, University of NSW Nanoparticles that Mimic the Three-dimensional Architecture of Enzymes: The Role of Nanoconfinement in Enhancing Electrocatalytic Reactions	
9:40am	Professor Mario Romero-Ortega, University of Houston, USA The Sutrode	
10:00am	Professor Irene Yarovsky, RMIT University Biofouling Resistance: Role of Nanostructure, Dynamics & Hydration	
10:20am	Morning Tea	
	Session 6 - Chair: Dr Alex Harris	
11:10am	Associate Professor Alister Page, The University of Newcastle Growing Low-Dimensional Inorganic Nanostructures via CVD: Insights from Quantum Chemistry & Molecular Simulations	
11:30am	Professor Yun Liu, Australian National University Defect Design for Dielectric Polarization	
11:50am	Professor Brett Paull, University of Tasmania Fibre-based Microfluidics and Diagnostics: Precise Concentration and Delivery of Targets using the Simplest of Substrates	
12:10pm	Professor Anthony Burrell, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA Title TBC	
12:30pm	Lunch – including special Equity & Diversity Panel Session Equity & Diversity Panel (held in the main conference room during lunch) Chair: Linda Hancock Guest Panellists: • Louise Moes – Manager, Diversity and Inclusion, Australian Academy of Science • Professor Maria Forsyth – ACES Associate Director, Deakin University • Dr Justin Bourke – University of Melbourne	
Session 7 - Chair: Dr Klaudia Wagner		
1:50pm	Professor Maria Forsyth, Deakin University Towards Practical High Energy Density Batteries Using Ionic Liquid Electrolytes and the Role of the Electrode Interphase	
2:10pm	Dr Nagore Ortiz-Vitoriano, CIC EnergiGUNE, Spain Engineering 3D Graphene Air Cathodes for Na-O ₂ Batteries	
2:30pm	Professor Han Yoon, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea Conducting Polymer Microfibers for Organic Electrochemical Transistor-based Bioelectronics	
2:50pm	Dr Pu Xiao, Australian National University Efficient Photoinitiating Systems for Fast 3D-Printing	
3:10pm	Afternoon Tea	



Session 8 - Chair: Professor Linda Hancock		
3:30pm	Ethics Panel Session #2 - Translating Renewable Technologies into Reality for Cleaner, More Just Climate Change and Energy Transitions Chair: Linda Hancock Guest Panellists: • Christopher Anderson - Director of Science Policy, Australian Academy of Science • Dr Tayannah O'Donnell – Director of Future Earth Australia • Professor Doug MacFarlane – Monash University	
4:20pm	Professor Gordon Wallace, ACES Director and Professor Maria Forsyth, ACES Associate Director: Poster Awards	
4:30pm	Day 2 Finish – Free Evening for all Symposium Attendees	





Day 3: Friday 7 th February 2020			
7:00am to 8:00am	RSG/CI Meeting (By Invitation Only) Room 3.02, Marie Reay Teaching Centre Building 155, Kambri Precinct Australian National University		
	ACES Showcase		
8:30am	Welcome and Introduction Professor Gordon Wallace, ACES Director		
8:45am	Opening Remarks		
9:00am	 Electromaterials - Theme Leader: Professor David Officer Holly Warren - UOW (7 min): Patterning of Hydrogels Using Ionoprinting Shaikh Faisal - UOW (7 min): Next Generation Magnetic Plastics, Doughs, Gels and Liquid Droplets Ghulum Murtaza Panhwar - Deakin University (7 min): Title TBC 		
9:30am	 Electrofluidics and Diagnostics - Theme Leader: Professor Brett Paull Vipul Gupta - University of Tasmania (7 min): Title TBC Liang Chen - University of Tasmania (7 min): Title TBC Jawairia Khan - UOW (7 min): 3D Textile Structures as Electrophoresis Platforms for Selective Delivery and Separation of Complex Mixtures 		
10:00am	 Soft Robotics – Theme Leader: Professor Gursel Alici Hao Zhou - UOW (7 min): A Soft Robotic Prosthetic Hand with Pattern Recognition Based Myoelectric Control Gerardo Montoya Gurrola - UOW (7 min): Adaptive Neural Interface to Control Prosthetic Devices: Design, Fabrication and Performance Evaluation Hong Quan Le - UOW (7 min): Improving Usability, Intuitiveness of Controlling Prosthetic Hand Via Non-invasive Approach 		
10:30am	 Synthetic Energy Systems – Theme Leader: Professor Doug Macfarlane Si-Xuan Guo - Monash University (7 min): Title TBC Shuo Dong - Monash University (7 min): Title TBC Amrutha Vijayakumar - UOW (7 min): Copper Nanowires with Tunable Selectivity for Electrochemical Reduction of CO₂ 		
11:00am	Morning Tea		



11:30am	 Synthetic Bio Systems – Theme Leader: Professor Mark Cook Eva Tomaskovic-Crook – UOW (7 min): Synthetic Biosystems to Model Brain Pathologies Xifang Chen – UOW (7 min): Electrophysiological Systems for Tissue Engineering Applications within ACES Bijan Shekibi – UOW (7 min): Electrical Stimulation of Neural Cells on Multielectrode Arrays
12:00pm	 Ethics Policy Public Engagement - Theme Leader: Professor Susan Dodds Mark Howard - Monash University (7 min): Machine Learning, Efficiency and Equity in Health Care: How will I know that you're thinking of me? Linda Wollersheim - Deakin University (7 min): Analysing the Framing of Renewable Energy Actors in Australia and Germany Mathew Cherian - Deakin University (7 min): Indian Energy Transitions: The Energy Divide
12:30pm	Certificate in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Presentations
1:30pm	Professor Michelle Coote, Australian National University: Closing Remarks
1:35pm	Dr Alexandr Simonov, Monash University: Feedback Session
1:40pm	Lunch and Day 3 Finish
1:40pm to 3:40pm	IAC Meeting (By Invitation Only) Room 3.02, Marie Reay Teaching Centre Building 155, Kambri Precinct Australian National University